How to find your way through Facebook newsfeed

I have been using Facebook for quite some time now – joined fan pages, made friends, even joined groups. I found such a lot of interesting information on subjects I am interested in: SEO and blogging, art and creativity, useful utilities, pages of German Universities (just now my university is thinking about the advantages of having a fan page, and so I am doing some research about it).

However I found it difficult to get through all these different newsfeeds, not to mention the various messages about someone who played a game and won something or wanted to win something. Another problem was the timezone – in order to get the relevant information from people living outside of Europe I had to click a few times on the “Older posts” button.

So I was very happy when I found the help for my problems (actually, I found it on the fan page of the Social@Blogging Tracker (I can only recommend this fan page – it is full of important information, and there’s a lively communication going on there): I put up lists. You can put up lists in Facebook like you can do it in Twitter, and so I put up lists for every one of my fields of interest.

I had to invest a bit of time in order to get every friend and every fan page in the right “container”, but now, that the lists are put up and working, I am so happy with it. Now I’ve got the impression that I am able to use facebook according to my needs.

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “How to find your way through Facebook newsfeed”

  1. Joanna Paterson says :

    That’s great Ulla, thanks for the tip. I’m still finding my way round FB too so it’s good to learn how others are making it work.

  2. Dianne says :

    And thanks from another facebook newbie, Ulla! Will definitely check out that fan page and look forward to seeing one for your university! :O)

  3. Karen Swim says :

    Hi Ulla, great tip! I separated my family into a list a while back but have not segmented the whole list. Good idea!

Leave a Reply

