My New Pastels

My new pastels. Photo: Ulla Hennig

For almost one week I now have been the proud owner of a big box of pastels. Last Friday I had a wonderful dinner together with my dear neighbor at the Italian restaurant around the corner. She does some painting with oil (but only in spring and summer when she can open the windows in her flat), and I told her that some time ago I used to to some pastel painting in a course. All the paints and materials were cared for by the man who taught the course – so I did not have any pastels at home.

She smiled at me and told me that she had a big box of pastels which she did not need anymore – she had found out that pastels were not “her thing”. And the following evening she gave me the box. She did not want any money for it, but she accepted two dinner invitations…

And now, on the coming weekend, I will dive into the world of pastels. I can imagine just trying them out – laying different colors on the paper, mixing them with my fingers, getting a feeling for them. And finally – maybe – taking a photo of my efforts! With spring finally having arrived in Berlin my inner creative me definitely wants an outlet!

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “My New Pastels”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    What a wonderful story 🙂 I can’t wait to see the photos of your works of art – there’s no maybe about it!

  2. Wendee says :

    I love the idea of mixing colors with your fingers and colored pastel smudges, everywhere. I hope you’re having fun!

  3. Judy Adamson says :

    How did you get on with your wonderful pastels? They are my absolutely favourite medium but I have a tendency to end up with smudges everywhere, including on my face! I think it’s because they are such a direct way of working so I don’t notice what I’m doing or where the smudges are going! Look forward to seeing your results!

Leave a Reply

