Tumblr – and how I use it

In my blogpost “Tumblr – what is it good for” I announced that I would use Tumblr regularly and write about my experiences.

Well –

  1. First of all, I have been using it regularly. There are even days with more than one post.
  2. I have been using it as a kind of bookmarking system, not as a blogging tool. With the archive system of Tumblr it is really easy to return to the single pages and follow the links (Note to self: Don’t forget to fill out the “Title” field!).
  3. The single pages on my Tumblr are not a result of a research for a certain subject, but are the accidental results of my online life – twitter, igoogle and my google reader. It was either a blog post which I wanted to re-read, or a certain squidoo lens which I wanted to have at hand.
  4. Nevertheless my February tumblr pages somehow reflect my current interests – you can find links to many art tutorials, some information about photoshop, a bit of SEO and some miscellaneous links.
  5. Yet there is one big question I am asking myself: Why do I collect so many links to art tutorials and leave my brandnew watercolor pencils set still unpacked on the shelf? There seems to be a slight imbalance between theory and practice…

By the way, you are most heartily welcomed to follow me on tumblr:

http://www.ullahennig.tumblr.com

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Tumblr – and how I use it”

  1. Rosa Say says :

    Tumblr as “the accidental results of my online life” is a very good way to describe how I use mine too Ulla… finds + aggregation.

Leave a Reply

