How to do Something for your Health without spending Money

I like to watch the Olympian Games 2010. I like to watch soccer, too (although the local Berlin team, Hertha BSC, is on one of the lowest places of the first soccer league in Germany). My own sportive activities however are – shame on me – rather limited. I like walking, but the icy sidewalks have kept me from doing that. I hate gymns – I don’t like the “Look here, I am the prettiest man / woman / girl in town” atmosphere.

But I know that I must do something. It is good for my heart, my brain, my bones. And then, some days ago, I had that famous aha! experience: I live on the fourth floor, and I work on the fifth floor. Of course there are lifts, and up to yesterday I had been using them almost automatically. Well, some people spend a lot of money in the gymn for having a workout on the stairmaster. I got one for nothing.

So yesterday I stopped in front of the lift, turned round and went up all the stairs to my office. I was breathing heavily when I entered my room, but at the same time I felt full of energy. Coming home from work and not taking the lift up to my flat was a bit more difficult, but I managed to overpower my inner lazybones. And then I knew: I can do it! I can integrate my health activities into my life. Taking the stairs instead of the lift is not a big thing, but I know I can stick to it and get my daily successes.

What are you doing for your health? Tell me about your successes, please!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “How to do Something for your Health without spending Money”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, I’m one of those people who spends a lot of money to work out at the gym. I’ve developed the habit over many years and enjoy my long workouts whether or not I’m getting physical activity during the day. However you do it, exercise makes you feel better, and feel better about yourself. I’m glad you are making the effort … and you will be, too!

  2. Karen Swim says :

    Hi Ulla, wow, gyms are the same all over the world! I hate the gym but love being active. I run, walk, bike, rollerblade, box, dance, jump rope and do yoga. I love moving and if you had two feet you have a workout. Taking the stairs is a great habit and as you said it’s using your daily life to be more active. Taking moments during the day to do knee lifts will raise the heart rate and renew your energy. Taking a walk break during the day is also a habit of mine (when the weather permits). Our ancestors led lives of movement and did not require a gym so adding more movement to your life is wonderful!

Leave a Reply

