Why You should use Flickr

I write blogposts. I tweet (http://www.twitter.com/ullahe). I now only occasionally write Squidoo pages. I have a facebook account. So I am quite active online.

One activity however I did neglect the last months – shooting photographs and uploading them to my Flickr account. During the whole winter I have been telling myself: “Well, the weather’s bad, so there’s no proper thing to take a photo of”. Most of the time the weather was bad, yes, But today I had a look at some of Robert Rhuzek’s photos at Flickr, and I can only hang down my head in shame. What an amazing collection of pictures from everyday life!

Blinds

Blinds

Look at that photo – Blinds! I must admit that I had never thought taking a photo of the blinds in my flat up to now. Do you notice the blue color gradient? And the way the blinds change their direction?

I would not have seen this photo without Flickr and without Robert Rhuzek having an account there and sharing his photos. I still would think that you cannot take photos when the weather is bad.

So if you don’t know what to do with your camera – visit Flickr! You will see loads of inspiring and motivating photos!

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

6 responses to “Why You should use Flickr”

  1. Robert Hruzek says :

    Thanks for the great lesson, Ulla! You’re absolutely right – it just takes a fresh eye to see the things that are all around us in a new way. That’s the difficult part.

    I find the most amazing things these days – right under my nose.

    A tip o’ the hat for the kind words!

  2. poutine says :

    Hi,

    You are so right about this.
    I think I will start using my new Camera
    more often for everyday things and post
    them on Flickr.

    Poutine

  3. Rich G. says :

    I’m a huge fan of flickr and go through the same thing you’re talking about where I’m waiting for something wonderful to present itself to get a “good” picture.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/simplerich/4288832225/ is a case where I didn’t wait. It was incredibly cold outside and it’d been foggy and cold for days but I had been cooped up in the grey long enough so I went for a walk around the yard, a short walk, and snapped some shot.

    I can’t remember where I read it, but it was probably something Eastern that talked about the beauty of every day and we just have to remember to notice it… notice the things now we’ll regret not having noticed on our death beds. It only seems morbid if you focus on the last two words lol.

    I agree… keep taking those pictures!

  4. diannemr says :

    Ulla, you’re right, Flickr is such a wonderful place! Though having let my account lapse ages ago, I have hardly been on there. Reading your post has reminded me how much I loved it, am definitely going to get back into the swing of things now, thank you!

    Robert, ” … it just takes a fresh eye to see the things that are all around us in a new way.” This is so true … and you are brilliant at it!

    poutine, do give Flickr a try, it really is a very rewarding experience, in so many ways!

    Rich, I agree, there is always beauty if you look for it.

    Ulla, I love the photo of your blinds! The lines and colours are mesmerising and the hint of sunshine beyond is beautiful. I hope you take many more such photos!

    :O)

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Dianne,
      I am sorry not to have been more precise: These are not my blinds – they are Robert Hruzek’s! The photo is one example of his “One Photo a day” set.

  5. Dianne says :

    No, Ulla! I’m sorry, it was me … I read it as you had seen the opportunity to take the photo, rather than the photo itself.

    Well done, Robert, it’s a beautiful photo and your One Photo a Day set is fantastic!

    I still hope you take many of your own now, Ulla! :o)

Leave a Reply

