Learning Journal

Since a few days I am using a learning journal. It all began with participating in one of Ruzuku’s challenges. In the beginning I was just curious. I had the slight feeling that I was learning more than I really was conscious about, and I hoped that the challenge would help me to realize my learning processes.

The first step was to find the appropriate medium for a learning journal: What kind of learning  journal would that be? Another wordpress blog kept private? Or would it be a simple notepad to write in with a ballpoint pen? I had tried a private wordpress blog, and I found out that I hadn’t used it regularly. Hmmm. I have a journal where I write down what’s happened on that day and the other. It is a nice book-like notebook with a colorful cover. I discovered, however, that my hand is not suited for writing down longer pieces. I was looking for something electronical.

And I found it – at http://springnote.com

Springnote is an online web application which is free. It is not only free, but easy to use and you can adjust it to your needs.

So I had my learning journal. The important point is that with writing down regularly in my learning journal I noticed how many things I learned and how they connected with my goals:

  • I wanted to put up a page at scribd to promote some of my squidoo pages  (private) = so I had to download Scribus and install it and learn to overcome the fear of doing something wrong in the process. I had to learn how to do desktop publishing with this program (I am still learning)
  • I had to create an animated banner for the webpage of the University of the Arts (job) = so I had to learn how to do it with imageready and photoshop
  • I wanted to create a focus for my various online activities = so I had to learn how to do it with tumblr which includes to look at other people’s way of working with tumblr

These are only three examples, and they concentrate on learning when solving problems.

I have no difficulties to write down that kind of learning process. But what about the things I am learning when reading a blog post or a book? This seems to be much more difficult. I haven’t written anything down which covers those kind of learning processes. It seems to me that there is still a lot of learning to be done…

Do you write notes when you read a blog post, an article or a book? And if you do, do these notes contain what you learned by reading them?

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Learning Journal”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    Interesting experiment in being more conscious of your learning Ulla.

    In response to your question – I do take notes when I’m reading books that I want to learn from.

    When I’m reading online I don’t, but I think the act of doing something with the most significant posts – perhaps sharing on tumblr or writing a comment – helps to consolidate what I’ve learned, and helps it to stick.

Leave a Reply

