Tumblr – what is it good for?

Today I had one of these aha-moments. I had been quite busy at work and gave me the permission to tweet a bit. One of the links I followed was the link to Rosa Say’s tumblr. In my opinion she uses tumblr as it should be used: she announces her new blog posts, directs the reader to interesting and inspiring posts on other blogs, presents interesting videos.

I was so inspired by this that I rediscovered my tumblr for the second time. Sometimes in the last months I had got the impression that I was participating in so many social media activities that I was losing the “red thread”, as we say in German. I was creating squidoo pages, I was blogging here and at crabbysbeach and writing a weekly classical music column, I had openend a zazzle store, and of course, I was tweeting. I was hopping from one activity to the other and had the impression that all these activities were not connected with each other.

As far as I can see it by going through Rosa Say’s tumblr (I highly recommend reading it!) tumblr is used here as a kind of focus, a means of connecting her online activities. I now declare: I will try to do that for the next 4 weeks with my tumblr also. And after those four weeks I will evaluate my tumblr activities. Of course I will keep you posted!

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Tumblr – what is it good for?”

  1. Rosa Say says :

    Aloha Ulla, this makes me do a little hula dance of joy, truly!

    I love my Tumblr, but I openly admit that I love it for some selfish reasons, and so knowing that it has been useful to you in this way is wonderfully affirming. I started my Tumblr, Ho‘ohana Aloha as a way to better understand what “lifestreaming” on the web was all about; learning by doing seemed the best way. That was in December of 2007, and since then it’s become a one-stop-shop kind of aggregator for me, but not in the ‘everything’ of lifestreaming, and just with what I think others might find useful as a secondary place (to my blog, Talking Story) to check in with me. The sharing part is a fringe benefit.

    However while that has been my ‘good intention’ with it, I say I love it for selfish reasons because I am fully aware that I get way more out of it than others do, and while we seek to blog for our reading community, I would encourage you to use your Tumblr for you first, so you really reap its benefits. Among those benefits for me have been that
    – its so easy to use, and add to
    — its an idea parking place for me. Frankly the archiving and search is not good in my present design there, but I know what’s there, and I know where to find the things I want to follow up on later.
    — I don’t have comments turned on there on purpose, because I want to preserve my initial idea capture with adding something there, and comments will take us to different thought places at times (and my blog Talking Story serves that purpose, I need not duplicate it)
    —- as I have noted in the Tumblr’s header, I now link to Ho‘ohana Aloha quite a bit in expanding my tweets on Twitter. I want to say more than what fits in a tweet, but I don’t want to write a whole blog post.

    It does seem that Tumblr is enjoying a growth spurt right now, and I think the developers there are doing a much better job in fostering the tumbling community. I’ve gotten so much more out of following others there (and I’m following you there now too!) than I ever have before.

    Have fun with it! Sorry this is such a long comment, but I am a fan of both you and Tumblr, and I truly hope it becomes as useful to you as it has been for me.

Leave a Reply

