Deep Winter in Berlin

winter in berlin

Winter in Berlin. Photo: Ulla Hennig

I am writing this post on a very cold Sunday morning in Berlin – the temperature is – 13 degrees Celsius (which is 8.6 Fahrenheit).

Lakes and the river Havel and Spree are frozen; outside the urban center of Berlin we still have about 25 centimeters of snow. It is deep winter in Berlin.

I must admit that it took me some time to adapt to that kind of weather

  • in the beginning I hoped that it simply might go away (which gets more and more difficult if you are reading the daily weather forecast)
  • I was afraid of slipping on icy ground and afraid of the cold and tried to avoid getting outside (which is also difficult if your fridge is getting empty)

But since yesterday my attitude has changed a bit. I had to visit my friends whom I did not see for weeks, and I was looking forward to that. I had to go outside. So I looked up public transport in the internet in order to avoid long waiting times, added some more layers to my clothing, and marched off.

Ok, it was cold, but it did not kill me. The sun was shining after three weeks of hiding behind grey clouds, the air was dry, and I really enjoyed being outside (for some time). It was delicious to arrive at my friends’ and sip a mug of hot tea.

The weather people tell us that the cold weather will stay with us till Thursday next week. Well, I won’t cry when the temperatures will go up, but now I know that I will manage even with very low temperatures.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Deep Winter in Berlin”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    Ulla, brrrrr! We had that kind of cold weather for a few weeks over Christmas and it was hard to travel, and hard to walk which I found difficult… I love to walk! (Only fell over once – and had so many layers on it didn’t hurt) But the plus side was the blue skies and sunshine and utter beauty of the wintry world. I’m glad you’re managing to get out and about into it šŸ™‚

  2. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, the photo made me shiver and remember that normally at this time of year, it’s like that here too. This winter, so far we have not had much snow, temperatures have been just below freezing but not single digits like usual. I’m glad that you got out and spent time with friends. Your attitude is inspiring!

Leave a Reply

