Hohensalzburg

Hohensalzburg Fortress, Salzburg, AustriaPhoto: Courtesy of adobemac

Hohensalzburg Castle is towering over the city of Salzburg. Me and my cousin had the pleasure of a New Year’s Eve concert and a five course dinner. Both events took place in different halls of this building (first the concert and then the dinner!).

After the dinner at about 11.30 pm we went outside to watch the fireworks. We were offered one glas of sparkling wine which we held in our gloved hands. Of course there are always people who can’t wait till midnight proper, as we could see and hear. But then the big count-down began, and then the most beautiful fireworks I’ve ever seen in my life began and lasted for about 20 minutes. (My cousin took some pictures with her digital camera, and maybe in the next weeks or so I will be able to show them to you!)

This castle has never been stormed – it was however given over to the napoleonic troops in order to prevent damage to the city.

What a great place to spend New Year’s Eve in!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Hohensalzburg”

  1. synergythris786 says :

    Hi Webmaster,

    I liked your content and image in your post and I felt that i is the great source of knowledge.I am very impress with your post.

    thanks

  2. Barbara Swafford says :

    Hi Ulla,

    What a gorgeous castle (and photo). How lucky you are to have been able to visit it. I’m betting the experience was phenomenal .

Leave a Reply

