The Permission not to be Reasonable

Last night the Berlin University of the Arts had her big Christmas Party. We had a nice music program, made by some of our students, a wonderful Bavarian buffet and after that, the dance floor was open.

I came home shortly before midnight (no problem, because today is the first day of my Christmas vacation, and I am now sitting at my desk with aching muscles. Not aching leg muscles, as one could easily guess, but aching abdominal muscles.

I ask myself: What did I do to get aching abdominal muscles? I can’t answer the question. I only know one thing: I almost danced the shoes off my feet (I love dancing but the music I love to dance to is not the music played in discotheques. So I use every occasion for dancing to my favorite music). So I have been unreasonable. I knew that I would get punished for it, though I did not know in which way.

But: I gave myself the permission not to be reasonable. I wanted to have a great night, and I had a great night. The aches will pass (soon, please, soon!!).

When did you give yourself the permission not to be reasonable?

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “The Permission not to be Reasonable”

  1. Karen Swim says :

    Sore ab muscles? Can I get a video of that workout? LOL! Ulla, I think it’s wonderful to let go of reason and logic once in awhile and just enjoy! I’m so glad you had a good time and hope your abs recover soon. Mine are super sore too but it wasn’t as much fun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

