The last kilometers

I must admit: I am using that blog post to sort things out for me. You might know that I am on something which could be called “lens-making-marathon”, and as I am now working on lens #46 I feel like running the last kilometers, panting.

It is not only that there are still about 5 lenses to create – there about 50 lenses to polish up. A lot of helpful hints are coming in from the squidoo community – people are investing their time in order to go through my lenses and write down, lens for lens, what I should change and how I should rewrite them in order to change them into quality lenses.

It looks like much work to do. And my inner critic is whispering in my ear: “You won’t be able to do it. You are exhausted. It is too much for you. Your lenses are too bad. ”

And there’s my inner friend (I decided to have one – he/she is a mixture of all my virtual friends on the web) who softly touches my shoulder and says: “Don’t give up yet. You’ve got more energy and power than you know. You have done so much you haven’t ever dreamt of doing – why don’t you just believe that you can do it? Your lenses are not bad – and the hints are so helpful that you won’t need much time to follow them.”

Well, I would not have believed it but simply writing down those sentences (I hope you don’t consider me somehow going round the bend!) gave me back a lot of energy. So back I go, to the secrets of the Renaissance…

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

5 responses to “The last kilometers”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    Wow, that’s a brilliant way to get round the critic! You are an inspiration Ulla, won’t be long now till you’re a giant squid 🙂

  2. Alina Popescu says :

    Ulla, what a great idea! Creating an inner friend by combining all the great online friends will absolutely take care of the inner critic when he/she gets all nasty 🙂 I will have to take your advice and see how it works out for me!

  3. Alina Popescu says :

    Ulla, what a great idea! Creating an inner friend by combining all the great online friends will absolutely take care of the inner critic when he/she gets all nasty 🙂 I will have to take your advice and see how it works out for me!

    P. S. Sorry for the duplicate, I commented with the wrong email and link. Please feel free to delete the first comment. Thanks!

  4. Brad Shorr says :

    You can do it, Ulla!

  5. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, you absolutely can do it! I love the “inner friend.” What a brilliant idea. We are often so hard on ourselves and easily invoke the inner critic but not the inner friend. Thank you for that!

Leave a Reply

