December – a new Page on the Wall Calendar

I am a calendar freak, and today, while I am writing this post, 1 December 2009 has arrived. So it is time to change from November to December on all my wall calendars.

I really like to do this, because I usually like to see the next photo on the wall. But now, in December, it is a bit different. It will be the last photo of the 2009 calendars, and in a few weeks all my calendars will be replaced.

This year 2009 has flown by, and somehow I have the impression that the months and weeks went faster than the year before.

No, it is not gone yet. Four full weeks are still going to come – and pass. It is the time of advent, and tradition in Germany wants it that it is a quiet time. It is not Christmas yet, even with the shops and the malls being full of christmas-y things.

Today our highest court decided that the government in Berlin who allowed to have all advent Sundays open for shopping from 1pm to 6pm (only in the city of Berlin) is acting against our constitution. The next year it will be prohibited. But I am asking myself: Can laws guarantee “silent Sundays” with no shopping? Nobody is forced to participate in the crazy flocking to the malls on a Sunday afternoon. I did not on last Sunday, and I won’t on next Sunday.

I prefer to light some of my candles and to listen to some wonderful music, just sit there and look at the lights, maybe do some journaling in order to reflect on the last weeks of the year.

How are you spending this time of the year? Has Christmas already begun for you?

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “December – a new Page on the Wall Calendar”

  1. Rosa Say says :

    I wrote about something similar on my Talking Story blog Ulla – a December 1st post about the turning of the calendar. Isn’t it something how much of an effect that can have on us?

    Very interesting the bit about the shopping there: What a huge uproar there would be here if our government tried to regulate store hours!

    I am like you: Sunday is not a day the retailers can entice me into anything but the possibility of online shopping – and even that is a stretch for the day of rest it has become in my mind too.

Leave a Reply

