The Day my Twitter account was Hacked

I had always thought that it did not happen to me.

The last days I got some DMs from people that had been following me that they got odd DMs from me, asking them to visit a webpage where you can learn about your IQ or where you can find photos of female students. Instead of checking my SENT box I simply thought: “Could not be me, I haven’t sent those DMs”. Instead of taking the hints of my followers for what they were – serious hints that I should take some action – I thought they were wrong, because what could not be could not be.

I got a message from a virtual friend today who told me again that my twitter account was hacked. I opened my SENT box and I went red for shame – Since a few days my twitter account has been used for sending out the most odd DMs to people all around the world!

Of course I changed the password as soon as possible. And I very much hope that things like these won’t happen again. Yes, I know, this won’t be the last scamming attack on Twitter. I won’t be able to prevent further attacks. But I know for sure: I will take action as soon as the first follower will tell me!

So all of you who got those ugly DMs: I can only say sorry if you got more than one from my Twitter account and I hope you are still following me.

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “The Day my Twitter account was Hacked”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    What a shame Ulla… I’m sure your followers will understand.

  2. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    I definitely agree! These things happen – so sorry it happened to you.

  3. Dianne says :

    I didn’t get any DMs from you, Ulla, but it wouldn’t have stopped me following you if I did!

    I got some from another couple of friends but luckily realised what they were and didn’t open them. Having read your post, I have checked my sent mail just to be sure am not sending out any myself without realising. No wonder some people are ignoring DMs altogether!

    Someone else who was infected has suggested that if you use the same password for any other accounts, you should probably change them there too.

    Sending a hug! :o)

  4. Kathy McGraw says :

    Aww it seems many of us have been hacked at one time or another. It’s very inconvenient, and can be embarrassing but our friends all understand 🙂 Glad you got it all sorted out.

Leave a Reply

