First Advent Sunday is Coming!

feddich

Photo: woolve.com

The coming Sunday will be the first of the four Advent Sundays. In Germany we have the tradition of advent wreaths – you can either buy them already with candles and ornaments or you can buy the wreaths and put them up yourself.

We have them in restaurants, too. Even my local restaurant, the Mexican Steakhouse round the corner is putting them up (although at least one of the owners is a muslim). They come in all colors and forms, but the light of the candles is the same: warm, welcoming, soothing. And the one candle burning on the next Sunday is a symbol for the beginning of the Christmas Season.

May you all have a beautiful Sunday!

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “First Advent Sunday is Coming!”

  1. Rosa Say says :

    Oh Ulla, thank you so much for this reminder! Advent wreaths were so much a part of my childhood when my devout Catholic grandmother was alive and so zealously shared her Portuguese traditions with us. I am not quite sure why they slowly disappeared from view here in the years since, and I have not thought about them for a very long time. Thanks to your posting, they WILL be a part of the coming holiday for me and my family, even knowing I will likely have to make them myself — that too is a very compelling thought!

  2. Paul C says :

    Advent: what a powerful and meaningful tradition. You capture it well with this photo.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Joyful Jubilant Learning - December 5, 2009

Leave a Reply

