What the Journaling Challenge taught me

Yesterday was the last day of my Journaling Challenge over at http://www.ruzuku.com. The challenge was to journal for 15 days at least 15 minutes a day.

I have been journaling more or less the last years. There were times when I didn’t write anything for weeks. Then came the year 2007 with the death of my husband, and my friends recommended journaling for me as a way to cope with it. I still have those notebooks, and sometimes I reread my writings. I carefully wrote down anything I did on the weekends amd how I managed to spend them on my own.

Then came a time when my journaling became a more or less regular report on what I did on that or that day. I did it, but it was not so important to me anymore.

A few weeks ago I learned about the Journaling Challenge at Ruzuku and I decided to participate in it. I enjoyed every day of it, sitting at the breakfast table, writing in my note book, sipping my tea. I noticed that I needed more space to write with every day. I wrote down my feelings after telephone calls which made me uneasy; I wrote down the feeling of “Am I stretching too wide – how far with adding things to my agenda do I want to go?” I used my journal for planning the day.

In one short sentence: I used my journal to talk to myself, to sort things out. And I think I will keep up doing this.

Are you journaling regularly? And what does it do with you?

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “What the Journaling Challenge taught me”

  1. Karen Swim says :

    Hi Ulla! I think journaling is that way for me too, a way to talk to myself to sort through things without censoring my feelings. When I write, the focus is no longer on the tumbling thoughts but getting the pen to move fast enough to capture the words. When my husband died, I stopped journaling. I think there was a part of me that did not want to capture that time and what I was feeling. There were years where the pen was simply silent except for the occasional update. I still am not back to daily journaling but am journaling more frequently. Thank you for sharing your own journey Ulla.

  2. Wendee says :

    Hi Ulla! I journal off and on. I find that what journaling allows me to do is make my thoughts complete. I’ll have ideas or concerns that I can’t quite grasp or define well, and they’ll continue to bother me. Once I commit to writing them down on paper, the ideas tumble out, the words almost completely formed into sentences all by themselves, and I’ll think, “Oh, well, of course!”. This helps clear my mind and helps me better focus. I know what good it does me, but I’ve slipped out of the habit of journaling daily – – your 15 day challenge sounds like it was a good journey for you. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this! 🙂

  3. Nicole says :

    I think your art is exceptional and I have enjoyed reading your blog. I have kept a journal intermittently over my life. A journal was a safe place to express my muddled thoughts, but there were times where something was happening in my life that I was not brave enough to write about it, it distressed me too much. I think I will try again, and try to write all the way through the good and the unsettling thoughts and events.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. New Challenge at Ruzuku « Ulla Hennig’s Weblog - November 25, 2009

Leave a Reply

