Windmill in Berlin-Marzahn

windmill

Windmill in Berlin-Marzahn. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Marzahn was once a small village, founded in the 14th century. In 1920 it became a part of “Groß-Berlin” (Great Berlin). 1945, after WW II it belonged to the Soviet zone. In the 60s Marzahn was known for its modern housing – many young people moved there out of the old and uncomfortable houses in the Eastern inner city.

The windmill is a “left-over” from the village. In 1815 the first windmill was built. Today it is still working, though not all the time. It is working about 200 days a year driven by the wind.

I participated in a guided tour through the mill. We all usually eat some kind of bread every day – and this guided tour reminded me of how grinding the process of making bread was – from harvesting the corn to cleaning it,  milling it and then baking the bread.

It made me think that in those times people probably appreciated the daily bread more than we do today…

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Windmill in Berlin-Marzahn”

  1. Shari Smothers says :

    Very nice picture Ulla. And I really enjoyed the contemplative piece you wrote. It’s quite an inspiration to slow down and look deeper at everyday things.

  2. Dianne says :

    What a lovely picture, Ulla! Thank you for sharing it … I really like how you have included what looks like a modern ‘windmill’.

    And some very interesting information. I bet the tour was fascinating!

    Your final line has really set me thinking … there is such a lot that is not as appreciated as it used to be. I agree with Shari, you have certainly inspired me to slow down and appreciate things more. Thank you! :o)

Leave a Reply

