The Day the Heating went out

Such things always happen at the weekend. I awoke at 6.30 am because of a funny rippling noise. No, there was no fountain in my room. The noise came out of the heating, and as I noticed a few seconds later, the heating was cold.

Arggh! I tried the heating in the other rooms: one was hot, one was cold. I definitely had a problem. On the other hand I had to leave at 9 am. I phoned the caretaker and only reached his mailbox. I went downstairs and wrote down the phone number of the people who could be reached in times of emergency. Ten minutes later I learned that they could not do anything without the keys to the  cellar. So I tried again to get the caretaker. This time I managed to talk to him and told him my story.

In the meantime it was 9.20 am. I dialled the number of the person I was to meet at 10 am and told him I would come later.

In the evening (the heating was still only partially working) I sat down and did my journalling. When I wrote down what had happenend in the morning and how I had reacted to it and how stressful it had been to me I asked myself: Why? Because, so I found out in the process of writing, I feel very uneasy when I plan how to spend a day and then something happens which forces me to change my plans. Instead of seeing it as a challenge and act in a proactive manner I feel threatenend by the unplanned change.

So, by writing in my daily journal I learned quite a lot about myself. Thanks, journal!

This is a contribution to a group writing project at Joyful Jubilant Learning: How do you Write to Learn?

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “The Day the Heating went out”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    Ulla, it’s amazing how writing things down helps us to see things in a different light, isn’t it?

    Thanks so much for joining in the project… It seems like a great way to learn how other people learn through writing 🙂

  2. Jan Scott Nelson says :

    Hello Ulla. I so recognise the scenario, or rather the reaction to an imposed change of plan. I’ve been hoping that journaling would help me to stop the knee-jerk ‘no’ that fills my body when this happens. I think recognising it is very useful.
    If (when?) I find out how to change the reaction to, ‘thank you, Universe, for offering me the opportunity to spend hours on the phone and worrying about my heating, instead of doing as I’d intended’ I’ll let you know! 😉
    Thank you, Ulla, I really enjoyed your post, and the connection I felt. 🙂

  3. Káren Wallace says :

    Bravo Ulla! My husband & I always try to remind each other that there must be a reason our plans are thrown in disarray. Even though we may never know that reason. (But often, by holding the space for possibility, we do find out that ‘why’… and it’s always positive.)

    Your ‘why’ could be that you got the subject for this post 🙂

    The trick is remembering when we’re feeling stressed and I think journalling about it is brilliant. Thank you so much for joining in the project!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Writing and Learning « Ulla Hennig’s Weblog - November 11, 2009

Leave a Reply

