A Greeting Card and Precious Memories

This greeting card is very precious to me. No, it is not because it is the first one I made and I am offering at Zazzle. I am a bit proud of that, but it is not the reason why it is precious to me.

The original photo was shot by my husband in January 2005. He was a teacher then, and while I was working at the Berlin University of the Arts, he enjoyed one week off school and travelled through snowy Berlin. He had taken a liking to our digital camera, and that picture of a small cosy restaurant somewhere near Lake Wannsee belonged to the photos he brought home.

Now, after his death in 2007, I have got his photos. And I decided to put his photo on a greeting card. So there is a part of him now on the web. I have ordered two of them already (I wanted to check the quality – it is good), and I will send it to friends who used to know him.

If he would be able to see it (maybe he is?) he would smile and be happy. I hope so.

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

5 responses to “A Greeting Card and Precious Memories”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    Ulla, I’m sure he would smile and be happy. I am smiling and feeling happy to read this post, to see your work, and share in these happy memories x

  2. Brad Shorr says :

    Ulla, Beautiful card, touching story. I am so glad that you found this way to bring new life to your precious memories.

  3. Robert Hruzek says :

    There’s nothing like a great memory, Ulla – except maybe a photo of a great memory. I bet he’s smilin’ from ear to ear about now! Thanks for sharing it with us.

  4. Wendee says :

    Hi Ulla – I didn’t know you were married or had lost your husband until a few weeks ago… There are always bits and pieces of people that are revealed ever so slowly, but add so much depth to our understand and appreciation of them. I would bet that he’d be smiling, knowing that you’re sharing your memories and his work with so many people. These are precious memories, indeed. Thank you for sharing them with us. Hugs to you!

  5. Wendi Kelly-Life's Little Inspirations says :

    Ulla,

    What a precious way to honor yoour husband’s memory. I got all choked up reading that. And its a beautiful card too!

    It would make a fabulous watercolor. Have you ever tried painting that scene?

Leave a Reply

