Work

Working in the garden in the last balmy days of autumn. Photo: susie

The more I want to get something done, the less I call it work.

(Richard Bach, * 1936 in Oak Park, Illinois)

I have been thinking a bit about work the last days. Or to say it in another way – about play and work, or fun and work.

For a long time work was considered as something you had to do, was painful, strange to you, had nothing to do with you. The men and women who went to work in the mines or the textile mills went there because they needed the money. I think that it can be said that they didn’t like their work – it just had to be done.

Things have changed. I have a job which I like – it includes a lot of creative activities like photo-processing, tutoring other people, doing some scripting. Often I only notice that the work was hard when the work is done and I feel a bit exhausted.

And I come home and continue with that kind of “work” – photo-processing, writing, tutoring. I do it for myself, yes, and mostly I am not paid for it, at least not with money. Is it work then? Or is it fun?

Somehow it seems to me that the sharp division between work and life which we had throughout the 19th and most of the 20th century is not working anymore. Or is it only me, a privileged individual?

I would very much like to hear your opininion on that – please take the time and join the discussion!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “Work”

  1. Meryl K Evans says :

    Ulla, you’re right that the lines between work and play are blurring especially with many of us working from home or choosing to “play” by “working” on our computers and doing other working-types of activities.

    Volunteer work counts as working. Blogging counts as working. You may not get paid, but you’re doing a job. In the former, you’re sharing your time and expertise to make a difference. The latter is a marketing activity.

  2. mona says :

    Ulla, I have totally lost track of what is considered work. When I do framing that has no bearing on my art, that is work even though it utilizes my creative side. But when I am framing one of my pieces for a customer that is also work but usually a joy.

    When I’m painting that is work, though only sometimes does it feel so.

    Because I have bundled my way of earning a living with my fun pastime (my art) suddenly everything can be classified as work even when at times it’s play.

    The flipside of that is, that something I used to do exclusively for enjoyment alone, has now become my job.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Fur In The Paint » Blog Archive » So When Is It Considered Work? - November 30, 2009

Leave a Reply

