Can you Write Following a Plan?

From now on till the end of December I will carry on an experiment.

Since May 2009 I am a member at Squidoo. I’ve successfully graduated at RocketMoms (writing one lens a week for eight weeks). Instead of taking a break after that adventure I have thrown myself into the next one: I am going for Giant Squid.

What are Giant Squids? Giant Squids are people which have 50 lenses and more. So my aim are 50 Squidoo lenses at the end of the year. Just now I am at # 19. Well.

So I sat down yesterday, picked up my calendar and wrote down a lens-writing-plan. It is a rather strict one: two days for one lens in the week, and two lenses from Friday to Sunday.

Do I feel pressure? It’s funny or even strange, but I don’t. I look forward to each day on my calendar because I know I will write. I don’t mind the grey days and the early darkness of November and December – because I know I will write.

By the way: I just published a new lens about Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. In case you want to throw a glance at it, here it is:

http://www.squidoo.com/wolfgang-a-mozart
Enjoy!

Do you write following a plan? What’s your opinion on that?

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

One response to “Can you Write Following a Plan?”

  1. Ken Allan says :

    Kia ora e Ulla

    Ultimately those who write all write to a plan. It may be their own plan, it may be plan given to them. And there are a number of ways this can be brought about. I’ll use the broad genre of poetry to illustrate.

    Over the years poets have followed all sorts of so-called plans for their writing. Keats wrote a sonnet on it. In fact, the sonnet ‘plan’ has been modified and embellished many times, even to the state of Hopkins’ curtal sonnet.

    And in recent decades some of the traditional poets who still write in metre and use a bit of rhyme have been counselled to write in free form or in so-called prose poetry. For all the attempts to remove the constraints that Keats refers to in his sonnet, these writers are nevertheless constrained by being told they should not use metre or rhyme.

    And as Keats says,

    So, if we may not let the Muse be free,
    She will be bound with garlands of her own.

    Catchya later

Leave a Reply

