Joyful Jubilant Learning celebrates its 3rd birthday

I must admit: When I visited Joyful Jubilant Learning for the first time, I had my difficulties with the name. Learning – yes. Joyful – yes. But jubilant? I associated “jubilant” with a choir singing Handel’s “Halleluja”, not with learning. “They are exaggerating a bit, those Americans” I thought (would you please forgive me, my U.S. friends?).

One year and some months later I have changed my mind. I had to meet some learning challenges during the last weeks. I had to do tasks at work which for quite a while a colleague of mine used to do: to produce animated banners with photoshop and imageready and to do some programming.

I am not the one who shouts “New things, here I come!” I like to do the things I am good in. I am afraid of new tasks. But, you know, there was no way of avoiding them. They had to be done. So I learned how to do them. I succeeded in doing them. And when the work was done, I permitted myself to let out a shout “Yea, I did it!” I was jubilant. It felt so good to have learned to do new things.

There are hundreds of articles which discuss the necessity of life long learning for all of us. They appeal to our logical reasoning. But life long learning has also to do with feeling – the feeling of joy and jubilance!

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Joyful Jubilant Learning celebrates its 3rd birthday”

  1. Rosa Say says :

    How wonderful to read this Ulla! It makes me feel completely joyful and yes, very, very jubilant 🙂
    Rosa

  2. Joanna Young says :

    Ulla, it’s such a good feeling when we get to that ‘yea!’ isn’t it?

    Thanks for your honest comments about first impressions about JJL… you are certainly not alone. It took me ages to ‘get’ it too, but being part of that community has added so much to my life over time.

    Thanks for sharing in it and helping to celebrate it too.

Leave a Reply

