Rocketmom Graduate

No photo today and no quotation this time–I hope you are not too disappointed.

But on Monday, October 12th I was informed that I belong to the number of RocketMoms who successfully finished session #3. I am a RocketMom graduate now.

It could be that some of you are now shrugging their shoulders or shaking their heads. What are RocketMoms and what does “graduation” mean?

RocketMoms are a special group of women who are either moms, aunts (that is what I am), grandmothers. They write Squidoo lenses, and they do it well.

I very well remember the middle of August when session #3 began. I knew that for 8 weeks I would be assigned to write one lens per week. I did not know whether I would be able to do that–with my day job and my three blogposts once a week. It would be quite a lot of writing, and, in addition to that, writing about things I never would have thought of writing about.

The weeks passed. One writing assignment included a product review. It had to be something international. Heureka–what about swiffer? They’ve got it in the UK, they’ve got in Germany and they’ve got in the USA. So I took out my camera, took out my swiffer duster, and produced some photos which could go with the lens. And I wrote the lens.

Writing those weekly lenses stretched my writing abilities. I had to go way out of my comfort zone, not only regarding the content of my writings but also the way of doing it, the planning. In the end it forced me to sit down “and just do it”.

And what’s coming now? I am going for Giant Squid now, which means nothing less than 50 lenses till the end of the year. For somebody of you, my dear readers, it might be NaNoWriMo, for me it is Giant Squid. It may well be that I won’t make it regarding the actual number of lenses. But independent from the number of lenses I will produce I will learn tremendously.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “Rocketmom Graduate”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    Ulla, you are an inspiration! Thanks for sharing what you got from this – it’s very interesting to me in terms of the ways you’ve learned to stretch your writing and get out of the comfort one.

    And I think Giant Squid sounds way more fun than NaNoWriMo!

  2. Brad Shorr says :

    Ulla, Congratulations! 50 lenses? Wow. That is ambitious, but I have no doubt you will do it if you set your mind to it.

  3. Robert Hruzek says :

    Congratulations, Ulla – you’re a… giant squid? šŸ˜€

    Hey, if anyone I know can accomplish that, you can. I’ve seen your determination and purpose grow over the last year and I have complete confidence in your ability to do whatever you set out to do.

    We’re all pullin’ for ya, Ulla!

  4. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    YAY!!!! Fantastic achievement! Congrats, you did great.

Leave a Reply

