Santana: Black Magic Woman

If you might be as old as I am you might recall an album called “Abraxas”. It was released in September 1970 (I was 17 years old then) by a group called Santana and hit the charts. It was music to listen to, maybe also to get drunk to or to smoke your joint to. I did not participate in the two latter activities, but my school mates did, and so this kind of music is always connected with an air heavy with–smoke. Usually nobody used to dance to that kind of music (You would not call moving from one feet to the other while clutching at your boy or girl friend “dancing”, would you?). One of the most famous songs on that record was “Black Magic Woman”.

A few days ago I listened to this song again – not on a party but in my local steakhouse / tex-mex restaurant while I was waiting for my dish. In 2008 Abraxas was re-released on CD, and the two guys owning the restaurant love to listen to it. They do not know that “Black Magic Woman” was famous in the 1970s–they are both in their twenties.

Being more or less the only guest at that time of the day (it was early afternoon) I could not but listen to the music, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I present it to you and hope you’ll enjoy it, too!

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “Santana: Black Magic Woman”

  1. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    Talk about a blast from the past – I played that in jazz band back when…when…..well, a long time ago! 🙂

  2. Robert Hruzek says :

    No smoke-filled rooms for me, either, Ulla. But I recall owning this album way back when! The only song I remember from it is Black Magic Woman, too – but I musta worn out the track from listening to it.

    Hey, they have tex-mex restaurants in Germany? Good for you! Have a plate of nachos for me, will ya? 😀

  3. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, thanks for sharing the music! I do remember this song although when it first came out I was still dancing around to Teddy Bears on parade, lol! I hope the food was as good as the music. 🙂

Leave a Reply

