The last Days of Summer

Sitting Outside. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Sitting Outside. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Today is the last day of August. August has been a wonderful month here in Berlin – sunny, warm, even hot, with nights you could spend outside. I had my holidays in July and the first week of August, but even with going to work I could enjoy the summer.

On my way to the subway I bathed my eyes in the green of the trees and the grass; I watched the birds hopping from branch to branch on their search for an early morning meal; I raised my eyes to the cloudless blue sky and thought: What a day!

Okay, my office room was a bit warm and sticky, and you had to find out the proper method of opening windows in the morning, closing them after a certain time and then opening the door. But everybody was relaxed due to the great weather.

And then the evenings: Coming home from work, passing my local restaurant with its beautiful garden, dropping in when I felt like it. Having a latte or a glass of nice cold beer. Sitting there at one of those small round tables, letting my eyes wander from the green to the blue to the green again.

Now September comes – with more work at the office (term begins in the middle of October in German universities, but staff arrives and many of them use the still easy time to prepare the term), national elections on September 27, the changing of the tree colors, fresh nights and warm days. And not to forget: three more Squidoo lenses to do!

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

5 responses to “The last Days of Summer”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, Your chronicle of summer has made this year’s one to remember. Now we can enjoy some cool weather.

  2. Karen Swim says :

    Hi Ulla, ahhh, it is such a bittersweet time of year. I really love the Fall but enjoyed the summer, especially this year. It was never very hot this summer more like a warmer Fall so it was quite comfortable to enjoy the season with opened windows and no need for air conditioning. The colors were so vibrant as we had lots of rain and now it is ending. I am going to relax these last days and enjoy them while they last.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Footprints Along the Blogging Path - September 1, 2009
  2. Footprints Along the Blogging Path — Coffeeblogger - December 9, 2009
  3. Here’s to the Footprints — Terry Heath - November 25, 2010

Leave a Reply

