Graffitti – City Art II

Graffiti. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Graffiti. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Art in general is something you can have discussions about, especially Modern Art. But regarding the paintings on the sculpture above most of you will say “No, that’s definitely not art, that’s simply smearing paint on something”. But here is the definition of Art written in Wikipedia:

“Art is the process or product of deliberately arranging elements in a way that appeals to the senses or emotions.”

Well, elements have been deliberately arranged, haven’t they? And I bet the photo made you react in some way. We often associate art with beauty, with proper proportions. Can there be art that is ugly?

I must admit that everytime I have been passing that sculpture in the last days I actually thought that it had nothing to do with art at all. After having read the quotation of Wikipedia, I am not so sure anymore…

What is your definition of Art? Let’s talk about it in the comments’ section!


Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

8 responses to “Graffitti – City Art II”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    I’d say this was art. I’ve seen much more dull, lifeless, colourless and meaningless objects in art galleries after all!

    I think for me there’s some element of intention to connect that fuels art, and I feel / sense that with this piece.

    I like your wikipedia definition too…

    And what Janice Cartier teaches me about art, that it’s a living, breathing thing

    Thanks for getting me to think this morning Ulla πŸ™‚

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Joanna,
      I must admit my experience considering meaningless objects in art galleries are very similar to yours! Often there is absolut no connection between me, the object and the artist.

  2. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, Wonderful question. I find the Wikipedia definition insufficient. I think art needs to do more than get a reaction, it needs to inspire a certain kind of reaction. To me, art is something that elevates the spirit, lifts the soul.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Brad,
      that’s definitely one aspect for me, too. But also art for me is something which makes me think, which provokes me. Take Pablo Picasso’s pictures: many of them I would not describe as elevating the spirit, but they make me think (for example Guernica)

  3. Meryl Evans says :

    My smart alecky reply: The one area I’ll never receive an A on. πŸ™‚

    Seriously, though. I’ll never understand why some paintings sell for millions. I believe that the definition of great art is up to each one of us and our tastes.

    The art in my home makes me smile, makes me think of something meaningful or makes me feel a connection with something.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Meryl,
      why do some paintings sell for millions? I don’t know either. sometimes the market is just crazy. “I believe that the definition of art is up to each of us and our tastes”, yes, I think that too, at least regarding “modern” art.

  4. Wendee says :

    Great topic, Ulla! I’ve always said that great art is less about what it looks like, more about what it does and how it makes people feel or what it’s makes them think – either the artist or viewer. I’ve found this to be helpful in understanding “ugly” art – – emotions can certainly be raw, painful, disturbing. In getting a reaction (and hopefully, for a good reason), I say “ugly” things can definitely be art.

    Sometimes there’s a strong reaction, and sometimes, nothing. Sometimes there’s intention, sometimes not. It’s so very subjective… I know when I am drawn to a piece of art, personally, on a gut level, but also willing to ponder things that I’m not drawn to … and wonder what the artist was trying to say..

  5. Ulla Hennig says :

    Wendee,
    I have sometimes the feeling, that it is better to ask how does that piece of art makes me react, do I react at all, and why, than to ask what the artist is wanting to tell me. Some artists don’t have this intention at all, they just want to express themselves – so they say.

Leave a Reply

