Blogging and Squidoo lenses – how does this go together?

One of my first squidoo lenses. Screenshot: Ulla Hennig

One of my first squidoo lenses. Screenshot: Ulla Hennig

I have been blogging for more than one year now, and I have joined Squidoo at the end of May 2009. I have been also a member of flickr for a much longer time – in fact uploading my photos to flickr was my first activity regarding the use of social media.

Blogging and uploading my pictures have been taking  a lot of free time  (it took me weeks to process and upload my photos from my travel through the Baltic countries), so the question was and still is: can I afford to begin with such a time-consuming activity as writing Squidoo lenses? (I wrote a a guest post on Squidoo over at Joyful Jubilant Learning so if you want to know the basics of Squidoo, just hop over and read the guest post!)

My answer to date is: Yes, but only under one condition: The three activities – uploading photos to Flickr, blogging, writing lenses – should not be seen as separate activities, independent from each other, but as activites connected with each other.

Let me give an example:

The screenshot you can see at the beginning of the post is a screenshot of one of my lenses, Berlin, the Green City. It would not have been possible to write it without my pictures on Flickr. That’s rather obvious, isn’t it? And how does blogging come in? Well, if you follow my blog regularly you will have noticed that there are quite a few blog posts on the green side of Berlin. I took those blog posts as a foundation for my Squidoo lens. I had to do some rewriting, though, because squidoo lenses are much more focused on giving useful information to their readers than my blog posts are.

So working on one social media could be useful for the other two, not only in relation to content but also in relation to sending visitors from flickr to the blog, from the blog to the lens, from the lens to the blog…

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

5 responses to “Blogging and Squidoo lenses – how does this go together?”

  1. Starrybluesky says :

    Thanks – useful post _ I haven’t had a go at Squidoo yet , like you I was a bit unsure about adding something else into the daily mix 🙂

  2. Joanna Young says :

    Thanks Ulla, that is useful. I suppose the bit that still kind of mystifies me is what the point of squidoo is – is there a long term aim to generate income from it?

  3. Ulla Hennig says :

    Starrybluesky,
    thanks for taking the time and dropping by. I am still learning how to combine my activities (btw, I forgot Twitter – how could I!)

    Joanna,
    with squidoo you can earn some money – with affiliate programs like amazon or E-bay, and with a certain part of the money coming in from google adverts. But you’ve got to have many lenses, and much traffic. That means hard work!

  4. Kirsty Wilson says :

    This post is perfect timing! I have just joined Squidoo and created my first lens this evening. I too am wondering what the point of it is at this early stage. I am a very active Twitter and Facebook user and the thought of another social media medium almost horrifies me but I have been reassured it will be well worth it!

  5. Stephen Smith on Squidoo says :

    Squidoo is a lot of work, but there are people making money from the lenses and from building lenses. I like to use my SquidWho page as an online resume/CV, it does bring me traffic and refers business.
    Definitely worth the investment!

Leave a Reply

