One Week and three Baltic States – A kind of Conclusion

Tallinn

This post is the last post of my “Travel to the Baltic States” series.

What you can see on the above photo is a wonderfully made door which caught my attention somewhere in the city of Tallinn, the capital city of Estonia. We went there on the last day of our one week travel. From there the plane took us back to Frankfurt, Germany.

It had been a week packed with new impressions and beautiful views. Vilnius, the capital of Lithuania, Riga, the capital of Latvia and at last Tallinn, the capital of Estonia – each of them had their own character, their great architecture. Of course we also had learned  much about the history of these three Baltic states.

But when I look back on that week some weeks later now I get the feeling that there are so many things which I still don’t know. We didn’t have the opportunity to speak with “normal” people – the people in the cities, the people on the countryside. Well, our guide was a young Latvian woman, but there was not much time to talk to her about things beside architecture and history.

So if I had the time and the opportunity I would visit these countries again and on my own, or with some friends, but not with a travel group and a fixed program. I would try to leave the tourist paths and go to where the people living there go, and try to talk with them, hoping that some sort of communication would be possible.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “One Week and three Baltic States – A kind of Conclusion”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Ulla, Thank you for the photojournal of your trip. The pictures are amazing, and I think you may have saved the best for last.

  2. Karen Wallace says :

    Ulla, oh, what a wonderful trip that must have been – I’ve enjoyed your gorgeous photos, thank you!

    I spent a week in Tallinn back in 2004, and loved every single minute of it. The summer sales were on, so the shopping was sublime, but more than that – the old city is just so amazing. Especially coming from a country that’s only been settled for 200 years or so… the history there overwhelmed me. I’m sure it’s the same in those other Baltic states. Do go back sometime, and go where the tourists don’t – it’s really worth doing.

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful photos and your trip with us.

Leave a Reply

