Taking Photos – a Means to re-live your Travels

Riga, seen from the Water. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Riga, seen from the Water. Photo: Ulla Hennig

At the moment I am writing this blog post I have uploaded another bunch of photos to my Flickr account. I am using Vista now, and its image gallery program (or is it called photo gallery in English – I’ve only got the German name for it), is showing me the date when the picture was taken. On my left side beneath my laptop I’ve got my diary open – I had sometimes forced myself to write down each day where I had gone to and what we had visited.

And so, by looking at my diary and looking at the photos on my computer and preparing them for Flickr, I re-live the week I had been away to Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia. Three countries in one week – that’s pretty much to take in. I am so glad that I had bought a bigger memory card for my camera. So I could take pictures without selecting while being away. I do the selecting now – and it’s part of the process of re-living the one week of travel.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “Taking Photos – a Means to re-live your Travels”

  1. Joanna Young says :

    It’s lovely to extend travel isn’t it Ulla – in advance with the planning, and then afterwards with the notes, journals and photos.

    Thanks for sharing your pictures with us

  2. Emma Newman says :

    I’m glad you took the trouble – I am terrible at remembering to take photos. So often I forget the camera altogether, then if I do remember, I leave it in my bag having forgotten that I have it! Perhaps it’s because I hate having my picture taken so much.

    I should take a leaf out of your book and take it to capture the buildings, I love architecture and the sense of place photos can give us long after the event. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Jannie Funster says :

    Hi! I just read your About page and I detect zero accent of German. You must be very fluent in English, but a lot of Germans are to my experience.

    I’ve been to Germany but not Berlin. I hung out in Schwarzwald and down at the lake of Konstanz.

    GORGEOUS country you have there!

    Riga looks very lovely. That tall spire is very impressive, never ceases to amaze me how artistic man can be.

  4. theBluesman says :

    the pic looks v good

Leave a Reply

