Rundale Palace

Rundale Palace. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Rundale Palace. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Rundale Palace is one of the most beautiful baroque palaces in Latvia. We had a guided tour through the different rooms of the palace – the white dance hall, the galleries, the small cabinets with Chinese and Japanese porcelain collections. Although Latvia is a poor country it managed to reconstruct most of the palace which was put in ruins during World War II.

Rundale Park. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Rundale Park. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Rundale Palace has a big park attached to it. It is a typical baroque park with strict geometric forms. I sat down on one of the benches, bathing my eyes in the green colour of the lawn and the trees. For one short instance I thought I could see one of those 18th century princes and princesses clad in beautiful clothes walking by.

But this moment went by and I found myself in the present again…

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Rundale Palace”

  1. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, these photos are breathtaking. The baroque style is so beautifully geometrical. While one could think that this would not be visually interesting, it is the opposite, glorious in the detailed precision.

  2. Betsy Wuebker says :

    Hi Ulla – It reminds me of Nymphenburg outside Munich. Beautiful, light-filled style.

Leave a Reply

