Dunes at the Courland Spit

On the map you can see Klaipeda. A ferry gets you over to the Courland Spit (Kurische Nehrung in German). There is one long road going through the Island, and this road leads to one of the highest dunes of Europe. I got up there and had the following view:

Dunes. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Dunes. Photo: Ulla Hennig

It was a rainy day, but the sea was quiet. I could have stood there for ages, just looking at it, but unfortunately we could not stay long. There were so many other places to go to… (That’s the disadvantage of being part of a travel group: you have to follow the schedule.)

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “Dunes at the Courland Spit”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, This place looks kind of eerie and remote. Too bad you couldn’t stay longer and paint it. I’m enjoying following your blog travelogue.

  2. Betsy Wuebker says :

    Ulla, this reminds me of looking west across Lake Michigan from Sleeping Bear Dunes. Beautiful.

  3. Paul C says :

    I like your incorporation of a map. We also enjoyed wonderful dunes at the Pinery Provincial Park in Ontario. Dunes are mountains of soft sand – beach castles!

Leave a Reply

