Celebrating one Year of Blogging

On the 10th July 2008 I wrote my first blog post. No, that isn’t right. I wrote my first blog post with the intention to keep on blogging in English and on WordPress.com.

Before that time I had a German blog which I wrote on in a rather sporadic manner. There wasn’t much traffic coming in, and most of the traffic came from English speaking countries. They liked my pics but could not understand the writing. So I decided  finally to change the host to WordPress and the language to English.

Looking back to the months of blogging since July 2008 I can only say that it was one year full of learning:

  • I got in contact with a crowd of helpful, kind, communicative people. Here’s to Robert Hruzek, Brad Shorr, Joanna Young, Rosa Say, Karen Swim, Jackie Cameron and Barbara Ling!
  • I learned to offer a mixture of photos, drawings (took me some spoonfuls of courage pills to show them to the public!), writings, videos.
  • I learned to keep up blogging three times a week (I began with that on January 2009 and managed to keep that schedule).
  • I learned to participate in group writing projects (sorry not to participate in July’s group writing project, but could not manage it this month, Robert!).
  • And learning all that I additionally learned to see myself as a citizen of the world, and at the same time, got a sharper understanding of myself as a European and German).

So I am looking forward to another year of blogging!

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

11 responses to “Celebrating one Year of Blogging”

  1. Lillie Ammann says :

    Congratulations on your first year of blogging, Ulla.

  2. Joanna Young says :

    Congratulations and happy blogiversary 🙂 You are an inspiring world citizen Ulla, and thank you for teaching us so much.

  3. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    Congrats indeed! You’re really growing supremely well not only as a blogger but as a compelling writer too.

  4. Ken Allan says :

    Ka pai e Ulla!

    I’ve enjoyed visiting your colourful blog and reading your thoughtful posts.

    Here’s to another good year of blogging!

    Catchya later
    from Middle-earth

  5. Brad Shorr says :

    Ulla, Congratulations! Your blog is one of my favorite stops and it gets better and better all the time. Thank you for sharing your ideas, feelings, photos, artwork, and so much else.

  6. Wendee says :

    Congratulations, Ulla! You inspire and cheer me! Thank you for sharing your part of the world and, even more importantly, yourself with us!

  7. Ulla Hennig says :

    Aww, you should see the big smile on my face! (Actually I can smile again – dentist’s work is done.)
    It is so nice to have you here! Anyone a cup of coffee or a cup of tea? A piece of that lovely black bread or some delicious German cake? All that’s on the house, my dear friends!

  8. Betsy Wuebker says :

    Congratulations, Ulla, on your blog-birthday! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you, Berlin, and the other places you visit. Thanks for all you do!

  9. Patricia says :

    I so enjoy your picture and drawings and discovering your world. I understand how difficult it is to write anything in another language – you have my admiration and you do it well.
    Thank you and congratulations on your 1st anniversary.

  10. Robert Hruzek says :

    Congratulations on the milestone, Ulla! I’m glad to have gotten to know you a bit, and look forward to what the next year brings!

    A big ol’ tip o’ the hat to ya!

  11. theBluesman says :

    congratulations Ulla & please continue blogging

Leave a comment