Up in the Sky

Up in the Sky. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Up in the Sky. Photo: Ulla Hennig

When the weather is fine, you can see this balloon hovering over Berlin. It is fastened to the earth, so it cannot fly away. The name written on it – “Die Welt” stands for the sponsor, the newspaper “Die Welt”.

If you want to look down on the city of Berlin, you can enter the balloon when it is on the earth and then rise with it.

I have my difficulties with heights, so I’ve never thought of going up with the balloon, but I like to watch it – same as I like to watch sailingships with their sails blowing in the wind and would never think of going aboard. Funny, isn’t it?

What about you? Have you ever been aboard a balloon or a sailing ship?

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

6 responses to “Up in the Sky”

  1. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    I always thought lines from a balloon to the gondala would be stretched tight – love the photo!

    Barbara

  2. Robert Hruzek says :

    Some years ago we used to own a small sailboat. There is simply nothing finer than cutting through the water in a sailboat on a bright, sunny day!

    Never been in a hot-air balloon, though. Might have to try it sometime.

  3. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, Great photo, as usual. However, as an English-speaking person afraid of heights, I’d have trouble getting in a balloon that says “DIE”. 🙂

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Brad,
      So you’re afraid of heights, too? I always thought I’d be the only one who stayed on the ground when the others were climbing up towers, rocks, just to look down from above…

  4. Paul C says :

    The city of London Ontario holds a hot air balloon festival every summer when scores of balloons are seen in the sky if the weather conditions are right. It’s a marvel to see on bright, quiet mornings.

  5. Emma Newman says :

    Mr Shorr, you are a funny man and I totally relate. You’re definitely not alone Ulla, I am terrifed of heights, and I think hot air balloons are the most frightening things ever – just a layer of woven wicker between your feet and certain death? No thank you!

Leave a Reply

