How I changed my Mind about YouTube

I must admit I was not very keen on visiting YouTube for a long time. Every time I went there I had the impression that it was full of amateur videos showing how the family cat managed to open the fridge door or how dad managed to fall into the pool – nothing really interesting, if you know what I mean.

Then I noticed other people’s blogs showing videos – videos I found very entertaining, funny, informative.

So I had another try. I really like music – all kinds of music. Folk music – especially Irish folk music, but also Bob Dylan, Joan Baez, to name a few, country music (I love Johnny Cash!), good old Rock’n Roll, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones. I searched for them on YouTube and got the most amazing results. There is one video with the Irish folk group “The Dubliners” which I am presenting on my blog.

I grew up in a family with a strong tradition of listening to classic music – from Baroque Bach to Strawinsky. I looked for that kind of music at YouTube too. And I am discovering one precious stone after the other. Some of them are just for me (I don’t want to pester you with eight minutes of the Ballett Swan Lake), some of them I am  gladly sharing with you. Mozart is one of my favourite composers, so there’s one piece of him on this blog. I also like Handel, and so there is a piece of him here as well.

This is music – and there is so much more: fine arts, design, short films. I am still discovering YouTube.

For me this is a good example of how to deal with social media:

  1. Try for yourself and find out the possibilities. Then
  2. Decide what you want to know, find, do with it
  3. And then use it systematically.

What kind of experience do you have with YouTube?

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “How I changed my Mind about YouTube”

  1. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, like you initially I allowed my preconceptions to prevent me from exploring YouTube. The lesson you present is true of social media and life in general. We can miss opportunity and even a bit of fun by dismissing something based on what little we may know. In regards to social media particularly, it is what you make it – an experience customized by your choices and preferences.

  2. Shari Smothers says :

    Ulla, I’ve had similar experiences to you and Karen. I didn’t pay any attention to YouTube, and all the rest. It was through work that I began to see a different side of these things. A coworker sent me to YouTube to learn how to do some things on my computer. And, recently I was sent there again to find a how-to video. I’ve found some really good ones too.

    The same with Delicious. I recently got a good understanding of it by taking advantage of a friend’s bookmark collection so now I’m building a collection too.

  3. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    I’ve been following YouTube now for quite awhile – not only is it a wealth of great tips, ideas, humor and the like, you can also use it brilliantly for marketing too.

    I have a link for Marketing Humor over at http://www.virtual-coach.com/forums/marketing-humor/ – enjoy!

    Barbara

  4. Fred H Schlegel says :

    My son now searches out examples of other high school bands playing pieces that they are preparing to play, both to get a feel for the music as well as to satisfy the competitive urge… It is a surprising resource.

Leave a Reply

