At the Roadside

At the roadside. Photo: Ulla Hennig

At the roadside. Photo: Ulla Hennig

I have two ways to get to work, and one of them leads me along that red-brick house and the plants in front of it. I pass this place regularly, and only some weeks ago, when I was not on my way to work and had my camera with me I noticed the beauty of it – the contrast of the yellow blossoms and the red bricks.

On the photo everything looks much nicer than in reality – the red brick building has a lot of graffitis on it, and people don’t always use the trash can for throwing things away. But – stop: isn’t such a photo digging out and rediscovering the beauty of things, a beauty which we have already banned from our mind? Which we do not see anymore? Do photos help us see reality again?

It would be awfully kind of you to join the discussion!

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “At the Roadside”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Ulla, Photos are helpful that way. It’s like when I’m a passenger in a car on a route I take all the time – I will notice things I never see when I’m behind the wheel. We miss so much – photos give us the opportunity to take a long look.

  2. Robert Hruzek says :

    You’ve captured some real beauty here, Ulla. I love this composition!

    I’m constantly amazed at what my photos capture versus what I see with my eyes. Sometimes I take a camera just so I can discover the new within the old.

  3. Wendee says :

    Hello Ulla! What a great subject!

    I find that I discover more detail and character (and therefore more of the ugly, but also more of the beauty) when I can slow down. I’m accustomed to the surroundings of our home, but only really see the different houses, trees, plants, etc. closely when I go for my walks (slowly), rather than drive by. And yes, usually, the memory that lingers is a very nice one.

    And even with the extra time to pay attention to detail, I’m always amazed at the extra details I notice, that I’d missed in real life, in photographs. It’s as if everything, all the layers of awareness get compressed into the photos. Everything we saw, and even more that we didn’t …

Leave a Reply

