Someday maybe or: what do You really want to do?

Berlin is a wonderful city to live in – you can choose between many concerts if you want to spend an evening listening to classic music. If you are interested in art, there is modern art and old art. Exhibitions usually open on Fridays, but there are so many openings now that they have added Thursday as a day for private view.

Berlin is a wonderful city to live in – you can have lakes and parks and rivers and forests (only with mountains it is a bit difficult, but there are some hills).

Berlin is a wonderful city to live in – if you want to practise your English just go the English friends’ club which meets every Tuesday. If you want to learn how to take better pictures or do something for your drawing practise there are the “Volkshochschulen” (community organised courses).

Berlin is a wonderful city to live in. Berlin is a terrible city to live in. You have so many possibilities that you may get overwhelmed. As someone who is interested in culture I find many interesting things to do, and then:

How often did I find myself sighing “Well, someday I like to go to that wonderful exhibition”. And then, half a year later, when the exhibition is over, I catch myself sighing again: “Oh I would have liked to go there.”

And then I decided to stop and think. What do I really want to do? What is important for me? How much time do I have and how do I want to spend it?

Now I consciously make decisions. I decide whether something at a certain time is important for me or not. I could go to a concert on Sunday afternoon in the Park, but I prefer meeting an old friend of mine. I could go to an exhibition, but I prefer sitting in a park and reading a book. Or the other way round. Just now I prefer writing this blog post to meeting people at the English friends’ club (they will be there half an hour later, too), because it is important for me.

How do you deal with the problem of wanting too many things at the same time?

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

4 responses to “Someday maybe or: what do You really want to do?”

  1. Alina Popescu says :

    Ulla, you are so right! Too many possibilities confuse us and way to often we end up doing nothing! I decided starting small will cut it for me. I wanted to go dancing, so now I go to a dance class twice a week. Later on, I’ll add a monthly theater ticket, and when that’s also settled, maybe an exhibition or concert. As for the rest, they go on my review later list 🙂 Hope it keeps working.

  2. Patricia says :

    Right now I am making lists of things that are offered for free right now…then I put my top 5 things in an envelope and pick one thing to do.
    We do not have so many choices as in the big city or in Berlin – I think European cities are advanced to American small towns.

    I loved our voluntary simplicity group meeting once a month, working on how to make our lives just right and now use up the earth….now you must pay a fee to go…

    Friends are wonderful to share time with….or drawing…
    Oh it is so hard to decide – a pleasure

    Nice post good writing

  3. Marinkina says :

    1 п. “Не имей сто друзей, а имей сто шекелей” тоже хорошо рифмуется 🙂
    8 п. Ты никогда не потеряешь работу. Когда закончатся фотографии можно размещать рисунки (да хоть бы и конкурс объявить на лучший рисунок Одри (-:), аппликации и фотографии поделок из пластилина…
    9 п. Сто пудов ! 🙂

  4. Ralph says :

    Oh, Ulla, you´re talking about something you should be glad to have! It is the same with me, I always have a choice between several things I enjoy doing and some “must-dos”. Just consider how many people there are who don´t know what to do with their lives or who do the same every day, weekend or so. Although I have to admit that somentimes it is hard to choose between interesting things. I think that in this position we are lucky to have a choice at all!

Leave a Reply

