Three Things I learned from my Community

The first thing I learned was that actually it was possible for me to gather some people around my blog. In the first weeks of my blogging I noticed some blogs with a lot of “regulars” coming back and commenting – and I thought – wow, that’s great, but I would never be able to attract such a lot of people with my blog. Well, about 100 posts later I know, that it was possible for me to have the same people not only dropping by but also leaving their comments. Of course, the number of my readership is still – well, let’s say – limited.

But, and that’s the second thing I learned, it is not always the number of visitors that counts, it’s the quality of their comments. Since the days I started blogging I’ve seen many blogs getting dozens of comments like “Great post”, or “get on with the good work”. Some of the commenters left their comments – so it seemed to me – only in order to get their blog addresses published.
In my case I am glad to have commenters contributing with quality content – a big kudos to all of them!

The third thing I learned is how important it is for someone like me who takes pictures, who paints, who writes, that means, who does some creative work, to get comments about those pieces of creativity. There is always the inner critic who says: “This photo is not good enough. You have no right to publish it.” Or “Stop taking pictures. They are no good at all.” Getting all these encouraging reactions gives me the power to fight my inner critic and to silence him (well, most of the time, that is). It gives me the power to try out new things. It did a lot for my personal development.

So let me raise my mug filled with fine ear grey tea to all my commenters – those, who commented in the past, those who are commenting now and those, who will comment in the future!

This is a contribution to the What I learned from Community group writing project at http://www.middlezonemusings.com.

Tags: ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

19 responses to “Three Things I learned from my Community”

  1. Emma Newman says :

    And allow me to raise my tea cup at you in turn, fine lady!

    I agree with all of these; but most especially with the need to have feedback as a creative – it has made a huge difference to me too. Funnily enough I’m involved in conversations about this elsewhere at the moment, and one of the things we’re discussing is how a writer’s blog can give them the support necessary to battle it out in such a tough world, whereas before, only those with the toughest skins survived.

    So hooray for the blogging community, and hooray for tea and hooray for you!

  2. Robert Hruzek says :

    Thanks for stickin’ with it, Ulla! I remember how tentative ou were when you first got started, but over the months your voice has developed into a sure and positive force. You photos are always fascinating, and sometimes downright proviking (thought-provoking, that is!)

    I’m glad you’re here, and glad to be a part of it! A tip o’ the hat to ya!

  3. Paul C says :

    You are an endearing host, with or without your cup of tea. I enjoy a cup of tea myself as I peruse my favourite blogs such as your own on my Reader.

  4. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, Great post! (Just kidding.) Seriously, your post is a wonderful glimpse into the art of community building, and I think the stars are aligned perfectly … just how perfectly will become clearer to you and Robert Hruzek tomorrow.

    Thank you for sharing so much of yourself, Ulla – your passions, your art, and even your doubts. I always feel comfortable and at home here.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Brad,
      thanks for your kind and encouraging words. Some months ago I was thinking on changing the name of this Blog, but your last sentence reassures me that the name is absolutely correct: Ulla Hennig’s Weblog – because that’s what it is – it is about my passions, my art and – yes – even my doubts. By the way, Brad, do you mind if I use your last sentence for my about page?

  5. Urban Panther says :

    It’s a great feeling having the same people come back. It says you’ve made a connection within someone out there somewhere. It’s very cool!

    And it’s not about the numbers. I have been blogging for a year now and my numbers are consistently between 30-60 visits per post. But, it is not my intention to monetize my site AND that means 30-60 connections.

    Congrats on your community and congrats on your 100-ish posts 🙂

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Urban Panther,
      welcome and thanks for dropping by! Actually my feed reader lost you, and this comment of yours brings your blog back to me.
      I am also not monetizing my site, and so it is more important for me to have people who feel comfortable and participate in the talk.

  6. Karen Swim says :

    Ulla, I raise my morning cup of java to you! I hope you’re feeling better today. Even after a year, I am so thankful for the connections and friendships made through blogging. I keep coming here because your work, your heart, your words resonated with me. I have loved getting to know you and cherish your friendship. I completely agree that it is not the number of comments but the relationships that truly matter. I look forward to your next 100 posts!

  7. Fred H Schlegel says :

    Hi Uhla, I’ve especially enjoyed your photographs since discovering your blog a little while ago. I think your post today could really help a lot of folks understand the real benefits of blogging (and most on-line media) better. It’s not about getting rich quick (although I would not refuse such luck) but about getting good conversations going with people who can challenge and encourage you. And while the objectives for every blog are a bit different, knowing this is a real opportunity for personal growth is nice.

    • Ulla Hennig says :

      Fred,
      I am glad you enjoy my photographs. There’s a many a more coming!
      “getting good conversations going with people who can challenge and encourage you” – exactly!

  8. Jackie Cameron says :

    I love the way you put into words what I have been thinking for a while – thank you Ulla. I will take the handful of thoughtful comments from a group of visitors to my site any day .

  9. Jackie Cameron says :

    Hey Ulla

    I knew you were in Germany but did not realise you are in Berlin. I am heading your way on Friday! What would you recommend I see and do over the weekend?

    I love this worldwide community….

  10. phmerrill says :

    Ulla, judging by the number and quality of comments on your post, you have a great community!

Leave a Reply

