Django Reinhardt

Jean-Baptiste “Django” Reinhardt, born in 1910,  was one of the world’s most famous gypsie jazz guitarists.

He survived WWII unscathed, due to the protection of a Luftwaffe officer, while many other Gypsies were systematically murdered by the Nazi regime.

He died in 1953 from a brain hemorrhage.

Whenever I hear him playing on the guitar I can’t keep from moving my body – his music is so full of  rythm and joy!

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “Django Reinhardt”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, You’re not kidding. Never hear him or heard of him, but what a wonderful sound. Listening to that song makes me feel like I’m walking into a 1950’s film noir.

  2. Preston Surface says :

    After watching this Youtube feature of Django Reinhardt, I copied the name and pasted it on Napster so I can listen to more of the same artist. His music does make you want to move and is so well performed. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Ulla Hennig says :

    I am glad you like the music. Django Reinhardt is really famous in Europe – he’s a real classic here.

Leave a Reply

