How to Combine Flickr and Blogging, Part II

In my last post I explained how you can insert photos in your blog clicking on the “Blog this” button above your photo in Flickr.

Today I’ll show you a way to insert photos of your Flickr Account in your blog post and schedule your post.

These are the steps:

  1. Sign in your Flickr account.
  2. Go to YOUR PHOTOSTREAM
  3. Select the picture you want to go with your post.
  4. Click on the button ALL SIZES on the top of the photo.
  5. You now get a window with your picture and a selection of different sizes on top of it, ranging from square (75×75) to the original size.
  6. I always click on MEDIUM, but for this post I want a smaller picture, so I click on SMALL.
  7. After having clicked on SMALL, you get a page with the small picture (so you can still think about changing the size and going for a smaller or bigger one) with two form fields below.
  8. Both form fields have html-text in it with which the picture is referred to. You have to keep in mind that putting a picture on a web page is something different to inserting a picture in a word document: With word documents the picture becomes a part of the file, whereas with web pages the picture is located somewhere else and has to be referred to or linked to.
  9. This can be done by giving the URL or the address of the picture.
  10. This URL is given in the 2nd form field, so you have to go for that.

  11. So you copy the text given there.
  12. Go to your blog post (I take wordpress as an example, but the procedure is similar with other blog hosts)
  13. There must be an icon for inserting images. Click on that icon.
  14. you are now asked to insert the URL – do it.
  15. There might be the possibility to insert a caption; you can do that if you want to give additional information about the photo (including the fact that you shot it)

The result may look like this – if you decided to insert a SMALL picture.

At the moment I am typing this, I am still on draft mode – you see how comfortable regarding to scheduling this way of inserting images is!

Tags:

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

3 responses to “How to Combine Flickr and Blogging, Part II”

  1. Barbara Ling, Virtual Coach says :

    Nice mini-tutorial! I really have to use my Flickr account more – it’s obvious you can do lots of great things with it. Thanks for the ideas!

  2. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, Very helpful! Thank you. Like Barbara, I now need to upload more photos into Flickr so I can take advantage.

  3. Patricia says :

    wow,
    I keep wanting to use Flickr but my IT person doesn’t…I am thinking about trying to figure this Tech stuff out myself…
    These have been good posts for me and I have put the links on my file page. Thank you
    I can understand your explanations – now I will see if I can accomplish this.

Leave a Reply

