Friedrichstraße on a Sunday

Friedrichstraße on a Sunday. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Friedrichstraße on a Sunday. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Sunday morning, even in a big city like Berlin, is still something special. The Friedrichstraße, which is very busy on a weekday, is quiet. No cars, and almost no people.

I am no early bird, but walking along the Friedrichstraße on a Sunday morning is worth getting up a bit earlier than usual. The atmosphere is very peaceful. In Germany, shops are normally closed on a Sunday (there are a few exceptions during the year when there is a big fair in town or another important event), and tourists who flock the street between Monday and Saturday are still enjoying their breakfast.

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Friedrichstraße on a Sunday”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Hi Ulla, One thing that strikes me in this photo and from my memories of Munich are how clean your streets are compared to U.S. cities. It’s quite impressive.

  2. Ulla Hennig says :

    Brad,
    that’s interesting. Because we – people living in Berlin – often complain about the dirty sidewalks. I think it depends from the place you are visiting – some back lanes of Kreuzberg are not very clean. As I have never been to U.S. cities I cannot compare – unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

