Friedrichshagen – A Place full of History

Friedrichshagen. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Friedrichshagen. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Friedrichshagen now is a district of Berlin. It is situated near the Müggelsee (Lake Müggelsee).

Founded in 1753 by Frederick II, King of Prussia, it once was a village of cotton spinners from Bohemia and Silesia.

In 1880 it became a climatic spa with a lot of beergardens, mansions and bathing areas. People from Berlin made trips to Friedrichshagen on the weekend in order to get some fresh air and nature.

In 1920 Friedrichshagen was incorporated into “Big Berlin”.

Today, when I visit Friedrichshagen, I still get that feeling of being completely out of Berlin, in a totally different world. And then I take the train back and – whoosh – I am again in the middle of the big, noisy city. Quite a contrast!

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Friedrichshagen – A Place full of History”

  1. Terry Heath says :

    I enjoy old architecture; the craftsmanship intrigues me. Thanks for sharing the photos and giving us all a little trip to Big Berlin.

  2. noel butler says :

    Hi my name is Noel. I am from Sydney, Austrralia. I was doing some research on a beautiful equestrian bronze sculpture cast in 1903. I gave my wife it on our 35 wedding anniversary. It was made by Schmidt-Felling, a well known German sculptor at the time. It had been given to the city of Strasbourg in 1910 as a prize for the city coming first in the inter city hunt run ( fox hunting ) by the Bavarian head of state when it was still part of Germany. It was found in the basement of a destroyed building there at wars end. It was made in the foundery of Gladenbeck and Son, Friedrickshagen in 1903. Do you have any information on this old casting foundery which appears to go back to 1469?
    The foundery stamp reads – GLADENBECK.S BRONZESIESSEREI – FRIEDRICKSHIGEN – G**H. Not all letters are easy to read. I think the G**H stands for GMDH that appears on other seals. What it means I do not know or SIESSEREI (or GIESSREI in another form on a later seal ) attached to the word Bronze. I assume there was an industrial section to Friedrichshagen due to the water in the 19thc and this old foundery was destroyed in the war as many founderies were used to cast war materials.
    Anyway this high quality art work and your town are linked by history that is worth knowing. Can you help?

Leave a Reply

