Horse – Digital Painting

horse

Horse profile

Several steps were necessary for this digital painting:

  • sketching with a traditional pencil
  • inking the scanned sketch in Inkscape. I had to get familiar with Inkscape again which was not too difficult. However, I’ll definitely change the thickness of the strokes the next time. Mostly they are at 2px, which is way too thin,
  • exporting the outlined sketch into artrage. When I did this I exported the whole image instead of selecting the head of the horse and exporting the selected part of the image.
  • Because of that I wondered about the small size of the head in Artrage. I used the airbrush, the marker and the oil brush tool. The airbrush tool is nice for shading, but you have to be careful to have soft and hard edges on the painting. I finally used the eraser to clean up along the lines, but because I knew that I wouldn’t get any colour spots I exported the image into photoshop, put the painting on a dark background and thus was able to see all the tiny wee spots that were left.
About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,045 other followers

