Landscape with Eagle

Landscape with Eagle. Digital Painting. Photoshop 7.0. Ulla Hennig January 2013

I learnt a lot doing this, especially a lot about how not to work with layers. I got various layers set up, one for the eagle, one for the grass, one for the stones. But: instead of having only the eagle on one layer, and the background for it on another layer I added the background to the eagle on the same level, which makes it rather difficult to change the background.

And I made the mistake of not sticking to the layer when working on the eagle. Suddenly I found myself making changes to the beak working on the grass layer. Duh! Of course you can still get a result, but it took me far more time this way. But mistakes are there to be learnt from, aren’t they?

Of course I also had some positive moments. I learnt how to create your own brushes, how to use some other tools, and most important of all: I am deeply enjoying digitally painting!

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,036 other followers

