Heat

Heat

Heat. Acrylics on Acrylic paper. Ulla Hennig November 2012

The paints I used for this painting are Burnt Umber, Yellow Ochre and Vermillion Red. Mixing Yellow Ochre and Vermillion Red results in a very intensive orange, and mixing Burnt Umber with Yellow Ochre results in a nice middle brown. I added the shadows in the branches by painting with pure Burnt Umber.

Besides learning about the various possible colour combinations I learnt that  using a bigger format than the one I have been using might be appropriate. It is a difference whether you are using coloured pencils and markers or a paintbrush. The second thing I learnt is that it might be better to do a rough sketch on the acrylic paper to make sure that the composition is right.

Tags: , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,052 other followers

