Half-timbered Houses

Half timbered house in Biberach, my birthtown. Photo: July 2011, Ulla Hennig

Those half-timbered houses are can be found all across Germany. Actually there exists a German Half-Timbered House Road, which is more than 2000 km long and stretches the Lower Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Hesse, Thuringia, Bavaria and Baden-Württemberg (Baden-Württemberg is the state I was born and raised, went to school and to university, before I moved to Berlin in 1981).

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Half-timbered Houses”

  1. Mary Hysong says :

    Love the building. I notice when I travel outside the US that most houses and places in Europe have flower boxes; makes even the bigger cities much prettier. Is the bottom floor stone then? Why not stone all the way up? Or timber all the way down?

  2. Ulla Hennig says :

    Yes, the bottom floor is stone. Stone on the bottom and timber following is one of the styles of half-timbered architecture here in Germany. You’ve also got timber all the way down here in Germany.

Leave a comment