Me and my Graphic tablet

Landscape with Mountain

Landscape with Mountain

This is the first result of trying out my graphic tablet. The one I have at the moment is bigger than the one I had first, and I am getting along better with the bigger size. Of course, there’s still the question “Where is the darned brush (smudge tool, pen tool – whatever you like)?” but the more I practise the more fun I have with it.

When I began to work on the picture I did not think of a result. I wanted to play around with the possibilities of a graphic tablet and I wanted to know whether I and the graphic tablet would become friends. While I was working on it I more and more thought that I might create something in the end. But still the process of doing it has been more important for me than the final result.

The picture above has been done with no reference photo at all. I had a vague vision of a mountain before my eyes, and I wanted the mountain to be framed by different shades of green. I didn’t intend it to be a “realistic” copy of a landscape. I wanted it to be colorful, and with its colors, to be full of energy and life. Hmmm.

Tags: , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

2 responses to “Me and my Graphic tablet”

  1. Judy Adamson says :

    Hi Ulla

    Have you tried just drawing with the tablet yet?

    I’m very slowly getting better with mine and what I found most useful was to practice writing my name over and over until it was somewhat like my writing on paper.

  2. coffeandpaper says :

    Wow, for a first try on your graphic tablet (although I noticed you referenced having used one before), this is really amazing!
    Congrats! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,053 other followers

