Just an Old Church

Church in Stralau, Berlin. Photo: Ulla Hennig

Church in Stralau, Berlin. Photo: Ulla Hennig

If I am asked to describe Berlin, I don’t answer with one sentence. One sentence would be to short for describing Berlin.

Berlin is – the capital of Germany with a lot of modern buildings;

Berlin is: a place with a lot of historical buildings having been created in the 19th century;

Berlin is: a conglomeration of small villages with village greens, small houses with only two floors and – village churches. The church in the photo above is such a village church. Stralau once was a village of fishermen. Now it is a place with a lot of newly built houses for well-off people. But this church still reminds me of the past.

Tags: , , , ,

About Ulla Hennig

I live and work in Berlin. Taking photos is one of my hobbies, and writing is one of my hobbies, too. So I decided not only to show some of my pictures here but also present some of the thought which came wth the pictures.

6 responses to “Just an Old Church”

  1. Brad Shorr says :

    Ulla, What a beautiful church. I love going into old churches because it gives me such a feeling of connection to the past. Where I live, there aren’t many old buildings of any kind, which is one reason I enjoy traveling in Europe.

  2. Robert Hruzek says :

    Ulla, you make a great point. To answer too briefly would simply not do justice to the thing being described. Sometimes our desire to simplify, condense or otherwise quickly get an idea across can lead to a complete misunderstanding, don’cha think? If you’d stopped at the first sentence, or only said the second, folks might go away with a totally different view – and be wrong!

  3. Terro says :

    Thanks, Ulla. I have always thought of Berlin as a big city. I didn’t realize it’s made up of small villages. The church is beautiful, peaceful; it looks like such a wonderful place to wander into and sit and meet with God.

  4. Janice Cartier says :

    Your Berlin is quite lovely. For some reason this reminds me of an area near the Potomac here in the USA. Just an odd remnant of a memory. Your photo has captured a lovely crispness, and holds an invitation too. To explore.

  5. ayu elisa says :

    thanz

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,039 other followers

